2014 Economic and Social Outlook Conference: Program

Thursday 3 and Friday 4 July 2014 in Melbourne


For enquiries regarding the program, please contact the Functions Manager, Penny Hope at melb-conf@unimelb.edu.au or +61 3 8344 2100.

8.45 - 9.05am

Session 1: Opening

Professor Glyn Davis AC, Vice-Chancellor, The University of Melbourne
Mr Paul Kelly, Editor-at-Large, The Australian

9.05 - 10.40am

Session 2: Facing the headwinds

Professor Judith Sloan, Honorary Professorial Fellow, Melbourne Institute and Contributing Editor, The Australian (chair)
Professor Warwick McKibbin, ANU Chair in Public Policy, ANU Centre for Applied Macroeconomic Analysis, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU College of Asia and the Pacific, The Australian National University
Mr Chris Richardson
, Director, Deloitte Access Economics
Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark, Ronald Henderson Professor and Director, Melbourne Institute

11.00am - 12.30pm

Session 3: Sustainable budgeting: tailoring what we want to what we'll pay for

Professor Gary Banks AO, Dean, Australia and New Zealand School of Government (chair)
The Hon Chris Bowen MP, Shadow Treasurer
Dr Peter J. Boxall AO, Chairman, Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal
Professor John Daley, Chief Executive Officer, Grattan Institute

12.40 - 2.00pm


Mr David Uren, Economics Editor, The Australian (chair)
The Hon Joe Hockey MP, Treasurer

2.10 - 3.40pm

Session 4: Concurrent


Session 4A: How to get early childhood education right

Mr Mark Burford, Executive Director, Mitchell Institute of Health and Education Policy (chair)
The Hon Sussan Ley MP, Assistant Minister for Education
Ms Julia Davison, Chief Executive Officer, Goodstart Early Learning
Professor Stephen Zubrick, Winthrop Professor, Centre for Child Health Research, University of Western Australia


Session 4B: Can the Commonwealth drive infrastructure?

The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP, Minister for Communications
Mr Paul Broad, Managing Director and CEO, Snowy Hydro Limited
Professor Henry Ergas, Senior Economic Adviser, Deloitte Australia and Professor of Infrastructure Economics, SMART Infrastructure Facility, University of Wollongong


Session 4C: Trade and investment: how to build regional relationships

Professor Ross Garnaut AO, Professorial Research Fellow, Melbourne Institute, The University of Melbourne (chair)
Senator Penny Wong, Shadow Minister for Trade and Investment
Professor Kerry Brown, Executive Director, China Studies Centre, The University of Sydney
Mr Andrew Michelmore, Chief Executive Officer, MMG Limited

4.00 - 5.20pm

Session 5: End of the Age of Entitlement (Panel Session)

Ms Patricia Karvelas, Victorian Editor and Bureau Chief, The Australian (chair)
The Hon Kevin Andrews MP, Minister for Social Services
The Hon Jenny Macklin MP, Shadow Minister for Families and Payment and Disability Reform

7.00 for 7.30pm

Conference Dinner

Mr Paul Kelly, Editor-at-Large, The Australian
The Hon Tony Abbott MP, Prime Minister of Australia

8.30 - 10.00am

Session 6: Changing climate on climate change

Mr Michael Woods, Deputy Chair, Productivity Commission (Chair)
The Hon Greg Hunt MP, Minister for the Environment
Professor Ross Garnaut AO, Vice-Chancellor's Fellow and Professorial Research Fellow, The University of Melbourne
Mr Matthew Warren, Chief Executive Officer, Energy Supply Association of Australia

10.20am - 12.00pm

Session 7: Concurrent


Session 7A: The productive workplace

Dr Matthew Butlin, Chair, Victorian Competition and Efficiency Commission (chair)
Professor Peter Gahan, Professor of Management and Director, Centre for Workplace Leadership, The University of Melbourne
Professor Judith Sloan, Honorary Professorial Fellow, Melbourne Institute and Contributing Editor, The Australian
Mr Tim Lyons, Deputy Secretary, Australian Council of Trade Unions


Session 7B: Putting incentive back into federation

Dr Pradeep Philip, Secretary, Department of Health
Mr Richard Bolt, Secretary, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development
Professor Stephen Duckett, Director, Health Program, Grattan Institute
Dr Vince FitzGerald, Director, ACIL Allen Consulting


Session 7C: Wrong tax system for the digital age

Professor Kevin Davis, Professor of Finance, Department of Finance, The University of Melbourne
Mr Rob Heferen, Executive Director, Revenue Group, Department of the Treasury
Professor Chris Evans, Professor of Taxation, Atax, Australian School of Business, The University of New South Wales
Mr Alf Capito, Senior Tax Partner and Leader, Tax Policy Group in Asia Pacific, Ernst & Young

12.10 - 1.30pm


Professor Glyn Davis AC, Vice-Chancellor, The University of Melbourne
The Hon Bill Shorten MP, Leader of the Opposition

1.40 - 3.00pm

Session 8: Concurrent


Session 8A: Financing the future

Associate Professor Sam Wylie, Principal Fellow, Melbourne Business School
Dr Luci Ellis, Head, Financial Stability, Reserve Bank of Australia
Mr Barry Sterland PSM, Group Executive, Macroeconomic Group (International), Department of the Treasury
Dr Carsten Murawski, Senior Lecturer, Department of Finance, The University of Melbourne


Session 8B: Bringing outsiders in

Mr Tony Nicholson, Executive Director, Brotherhood of St Laurence (Chair)
Mr Warren Mundine, Managing Director, NyunggaBlack and Chair, Prime Minister's Indigenous Advisory Council
Mr Patrick McClure, Governance and Strategy Consultant, Institute of Strategic Management
Dr Cassandra Goldie, Chief Executive, Australian Council of Social Service


Session 8C: Sources of comparative advantage

Professor Paul Kofman, Dean, Faculty of Business and Economics, The University of Melbourne (Chair)
Dr Brian Fisher AO PSM, Managing Director, BAEconomics
Mr Martin Ferguson AM, Group Executive of Natural Resources, Seven Group Holdings Limited
Mr Mick Keogh, Executive Director, Australian Farm Institute

3.00 - 3.10pm Afternoon Tea
3.10 - 4.00pm

Session 9: The political economy of achieving reform

Mr Paul Kelly, Editor-at-Large, The Australian (Chair)
Senator Nick Xenophon, Independent Senator for South Australia
Mr Terry Moran AC, National President and National Fellow, Institute of Public Administration Australia
Mr Michael Woods, Deputy Chairman, Productivity Commission

4.00pm Close